Principle Investigator: Alamgir Karim


Alamgir Karim obtained his Ph.D. in Physics from Northwestern University in Illinois in 1992. He did a post-doc in Chemical Engineering at the University of Minnesota through 1993 before joining the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Gaithersburg, Maryland. He was Group Leader of the Polymer Blends, Combinatorial Methods and Nanomaterials Group at NIST. From 2009 to 2017, he was Goodyear Chair Professor of Polymer Engineering, and from 2010-2016, Co-Director, Akron Functional Materials Center at the University of Akron. He held administrative positions of Associate Dean of Research and Institute Director at the College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering at the University of Akron from 2012 to 2016.

In the fall of 2017, he joined the William A. Brookshire Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Houston (UH). His current positions include Dow Chair Professor, Director of the Doctoral Materials Program, and Director of the International Consortium for Polymer and Soft Matter (ICPSM) at UH. His areas of interest and research include polymer nanotechnology of thin films, surfaces and interfaces related to energy, and sustainability and human health. Polymer systems of interest include nanoparticle polymer systems, patterning polymer films, polymer blends phase separation, polymer thin film nanocomposites, elastomers based systems, block copolymers thin film ordering, as well as polymer thin films and processing methods for functional applications. He has an H-index of 65, has published over 250 papers, has edited several books in these areas of polymer research, and has organized several international conferences on these topics. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) as well as Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and recipient of Keck Foundation Award.

Research and Professional experience

  • 2017 – Present     Univ. of Houston (UH), Dow Chair Prof., Dept. of Chem. & Biomolecular Engineering
  • 2017 – Present     Directors, Doctoral Materials Program & Center for Polymers and Soft Matter (UH)
  • 2008 – 2017       Univ. of Akron (UA), Goodyear Chair Prof., Dept. of Polymer Engineering
  • 2010 – 2016       Co-Director, Akron Functional Materials Center (AFMC)
  • 2010 – 2015       Institute Director and Associate Dean, College of Polym. Science & Polym. Engineering
  • 2005 – 2008       NIST, Polymers Division, Group Leader, Nanostructured Materials
  • 2003 – 2005       NIST Directors Office, Program Analyst and NSF Liaison
  • 2001 – 2003       NIST, Polymers Division, Group Leader, Multivariant Measurement Methods
  • 1999 – 2001       NIST, Polymers Division, Acting Group Leader, Polymer Blends and Processing
  • 1993 – 1999       NIST, Polymers Division, Physicist, Polymer Blends and Processing
  • 1992 – 1993       NIST, Reactor Division and University of Maryland, Guest Researcher
  • 1988 – 1988       IBM San Jose, Summer Intern
  • 1987 – 1991       Argonne National Laboratory, IPNS, Graduate Research Assistant

Awards and Honors

  • NSF DMR Special Creativity Award, 2021
  • Dow Chair Professor, 2017 – current
  • Welch Foundation Endowment, 2017
  • Keck Foundation Award, 2013
  • Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), 2012
  • CUGSR Faculty Mentor of The Year, University of Akron, 2010
  • Co-Director, Akron Functional Materials Center (AFMC), 2010-2017
  • Goodyear Chair Professor, University of Akron, 2008-2017
  • King Saud University, Invited Program Evaluation Member, 2014
  • Advisory Member, Workshop, Dept. of Polymer Engineering, Yalova University, Turkey
  • Panel Evaluation Member: National Science and Engineering Council of Canada (NSERC), 2010-2014, 2012 NSF-NSEC
  • National Science Foundation, Multiple NSF Panel including NSF-MRSEC’s
  • Department of Energy, DOE BES-COV (Committee of Visitors) Panel, 2012
  • Sub-Committee Member, User Group, Center for Nanoscale Materials Science, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, 2008-2010.
  • Program Advisory Board Member, University of Connecticut, Institute for Materials Science (IMS), Polymers Program, 2007-2008
  • Silver Medal Award, US Department of Commerce, 2007
  • Fellow of American Physical Society (APS), 2005
  • Advisory Committee Member, Keck Program, Howard University, Washington D.C., 2003
  • Bronze Medal Award, US Department of Commerce, NIST, 2002
  • International Advisory Board Member for “Polymer Nanocomposites”, National Research Council of Canada (NRCC), 2000
  • Pace-Setter Award, Argonne National Laboratory, 1990
  • Summer Intern Fellowship, IBM, San Jose, California, 1988
  • National Talent Scholarship Award, India, 1980
  • National Mathematics Olympiad Award, India, 1980
  • Junior Science Talent Scholarship Award, India, 1978